Project Goal

Home / Project Goal
|  The Goal  |

The project goal is to complete the Seven Summits challenge by climbing the highest peaks on all 7 continents. The Seven Summits are: Mt. Everest (Asia), Vinson Massif (Antarctica), Aconcagua (S. America), Denali (N. America), Mt. Kilimanjaro (Africa), Mt. Elbrus (Europe) & Mt. Kosciuszko (Australia). Less than 300 climbers worldwide have ever completed the Seven Summits making it one of the most exclusive feats in mountaineering.

To date, Paul Devaney has completed 6 of 7 summits while Niall O’Byrnes has done 5 of 7 summits. Other Irish folks including Martin Maher, Alan Whooley & Eli Tanner along with Internationals Madhura Dudhgaonkar (India/USA) and Till Manntz (Germany) have joined us on climbs and expeditions, while others participated in training expeditions or skills courses in the Alps (Mt. Blanc), Scotland, USA, Jordan, Lebanon & beyond.

Seven Summits Challenge – Status

7. Asia (Everest) - Abandoned 2014 (Avalanche) & 2015 (Earthquake)
6. Antarctica (Vinson Massif) - Completed
5. South America (Aconcagua) - Completed
4. North America (Denali) - Completed
3. Europe (Mt. Elbrus) - Completed
2. Africa (Mt. Kilimanjaro) - Completed
1. Australia (Mt. Kosciuszko) - Completed
|  The Timeline  |

The idea for the Seven Summits challenge started on a trek to Everest Base Camp in October 2005 and the first of the seven summits – Kilimanjaro – was completed in April 2007. The project has been ongoing since 2007. Along the way we have completed training courses in the Alps & Scotland as well as a series of climbs in Austria, Switzerland, USA, UK, Ireland, Lebanon, Jordan and beyond, to expand our repertoire of mountaineering skills & capabilities.

|  The Locations  |
|  The Scale  |
|  Everest 2015  |

The Everest 2015 itinerary was devised by Paul Devaney with inputs from Mingma Tsiri Sherpa and other very experienced mountaineers. The aim was to achieve a plan which reduced significantly the icefall crossings (between EBC and C1) following the avalanche in the icefall in 2014. The itinerary also included adaptation away from Everest on the less crowded Island Peak at 6200m. Another vital aspect of the new itinerary was to avoid having trekkers and Everest climbers on the same trip due to the high risk of infection transfer. The Nepal earthquake & EBC avalanche on 25th April 2015 led to the termination of the expedition and was the first season without any Everest summits since 1974. 

error: Alert: Contact site owner for content